Barcelona, my dear:

moving_to_barcelona

Barcelona stole my heart the first time I visit it and she kept it since. This city is my favourite place on earth not only because of how it is, but because what it makes me feel when I’m walking  through its streets and living in it. I don’t know exactly what it is, but is magical.

This post hasn’t any touristic intention at all. I just want you to know what I like from Barcelona and what I miss the most since I moved to Glasgow, a year ago..

1. The weather!!!!

(In winter the temperature normally ranges from 7 to 17 °C . In summer the typical temperature ranges from 25 to 31 °C, and the season lasts about six months, from May to October. So is perfect)

2. The ordered and easy city map.

rv91n1jx

(It is impossible to get lost, and easy to find any address)

3. The public transport.

mappa-metropolitana-barcellona

(Subway, Train, Buses, Tramway… always running from very early to very late, fast, constantly and on time. You don’t have to wait too long for the buses and is just nice and tidy, and not too expensive as the UK)

4. The city town center (El Raval, Barri Gotic and El Born).

barcelona_barri_gotic_satellite

5. Specially these streets:

Carrer de l’Ave Maria (Because is as long as praying an “Ave Maria”)

8759188408_f1d983b04b_b

Carrer de Joaquin Costa (In the morning, when is empty of Hipsters)

  Post-91-Joaquím-Costa

Carrer de la Riera Baixa (Where my favorite Vintage shop is located)

       nadine-carrer-riera-baixa-3

Carrer d’Avinyo (Where Picasso used to go for “love affairs”. From his experience in that street he painted “Les demoiselles d’Avignon” in 1907)

      CRI_151271

6. The beach in summer (or any moment of the year)!!!!

BarcelonaBeach

(Is not the most beautiful of the Meditarranean Sea, but it works for having a walk in winter or having a sunbath in summer… Just lay down, close your eyes and feel the sun on your skin)

7. Macba’s square and its skaters!!!!

macba

( Girls know what I mean)

8. CCCB.

_N7X4782

cccb-barcelona

(Its exhibitions and cultural programmes, and sometimes there take place a vintage market)

9. El Colectivo.

El-Colectivo-Café-Bar-Barcelona

(My favorite place to meet up for a tea or beer and chat chat chat and chat)

10. Apolo’s “Nitsa Club” every Friday.

8084101731_52b99396a2_z

(Where the “best” of the local and international Hipster-kind congregates for a good night of Electronic music, from 12 pm to 6 am non stop punch punch punch… and, again, girls know what I mean)

12. Having a “Moritz Epidor” with “quicos” (outside, enjoying the weather reading a book or with nice company, almost at any time of the year).

moritz_epidor_web   13697532423128

13. “Pa amb tomàquet” and “Fuet” (for breakfast or dinner or lunch or teatime).

foto18 image

14. The street atmosphere when is a special city festival, like “Sant Jordi” or “La Merce”.

Collage-Sant-Jordi1 hotel-barcelona-festes-merce-2012

15. When the city is sunny and bright and I’m walking, I feel this song:

“Ella tiene poder, ella tiene poder

Barcelona es poderosa, Barcelona tiene poder”

16. But every time I leave and go back to Barcelona I always feel the lyric of this song in my heart and soul:

“Barcelona – it was the first time that we met

Barcelona – How can I forget

The moment that you stepped into the room you took my breath away

Barcelona – La música vibró

Barcelona – Y ella nos unió

And if God willing we will meet again someday”

Obviously, there are a lot of things that I don’t like, but I’ve visited some cities like Rome, London, Madrid, Paris, Amsterdam, Dublin, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Zurich, Lausanne and Bern, Cracow and Warsaw and many other Spanish cities, and I must say that none of them made me such impression as the Mediterranean city: well, ok, probably Paris. But I’m engaged  with Barcelona since I first met her.

“Por ti seré gaviota de tu bella mar”

Responder

